Select Page

Dolomites World Heritage

Area Dolomiti UNESCO

Il 26 giugno 2009, a Siviglia, l’UNESCO ha inserito le Dolomiti nel Patrimonio Naturale Mondiale dell’Umanità. Il riconoscimento corona un lungo cammino che ha sancito lo straordinario valore paesaggistico e naturalistico delle “montagne più belle del mondo”.

On 26th June 2009, in Seville, UNESCO included the Dolomites in the World Natural Heritage. The recognition crowns a long journey that has sanctioned the extraordinary landscape and naturalistic value of the “most beautiful mountains in the world”.

After the report by the delegate of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), the in-depth speeches by the Italian ambassador to UNESCO and the discussion by the 21 members of the World Hermitage Committee (WHC), the candidacy of the Dolomites finally found full acceptance.


Mappa gruppi Dolomitici







The nine Dolomite groups Pelmo-Croda da Lago, Marmolada, Pale di San Martino-San Lucano, Dolomiti Bellunesi, Dolomiti Friulane and Oltre Piave, Northern Dolomites, Puez-Odle, Sciliar-Catinaccio-Latemar, Bletterbach and Brenta obtained recognition from the United Nations organization for Education, Science and Culture as a serial asset for their geological and landscape exceptional value. They are therefore included in the list of UNESCO natural assets and must be subject to precise rules of protection and enhancement.

Visit the website UNESCO Dolomites